Valentine’s Day recommendations

Last year I shared some of the recommendations for books to be included in the reading lists around Valentine’s Day here, and this year I’ve decided to broaden this list a bit.

Ever since the beginning of the year I’m in Austen mood, so it’s no surprise that the love-related books I chose to read this month are 3 Austen classics. The first of them is Sense and Sensibility, a story about Dashwood sisters who impersonate two opposites in the title. I never read it so I’m pretty excited to enjoy in another Austen classic. The second book I always mention (including the previous post on this subject) is Emma which is my favorite Austen book, and among 5 top books I’ve ever read. I also loved the film from 1996 with Gwyneth Paltrow as the main character. This is a story of young girl who spends her days in reading romances and matchmaking everyone that surrounds her, meanwhile forgetting to think about her own feelings. Wonderful book with great character development, easy to read and contemplate upon.

The third, and final Austen book, is Mansfield Park . I’ve started reading it during the #RYBSAT challenge and am hoping to finish it soon. This story follows Fanny Price who is sent from her poor parents’ house to her aunt’s household to spend young days with her rich cousins. Love will, of course, interfere into family relations, but I won’t say another word. Another great Austen book, for those of us who enjoy in cheesy romance classics :).

share_tempory

When I shared the photo of my Valentine’s Day reads on my Instagram, one book looked like it does not belong there. Caitlin Moran’s How to be a Woman is a star of this reading list. The book you wouldn’t usually chose as a Valentine’s Day book companion is the book I’m looking forward to reading the most. Romance is fine and all that, but we should not forget who we are nor allow the usual relationship stereotypes to put limitations in front of us. Has anyone read this yet?

Fotor_145476616902115

Do you have any romance lit recommendations to share with me?

Until the next page,

I.M.

2 thoughts on “Valentine’s Day recommendations

Leave a comment