Let’s Talk…and Read…of Love!!

Since it’s Valentine’s Day, I thought I might write a sentence or two (most likely, more :)) of some of the books I usualy recommend to my friends when they want to read romances.

I’m not that into love stories, as you can see on my Goodreads shelves. If they’re part of a larger picture, OK, but I usually do not buy romance books on purpose. I’m not that Valentine type either, but that’s another story :).

However, there are some books I gladly lend or recommend to my friends and I want to share them with you.

If you’re into light reading, and if you liked the film, you’ll enjoy Eat, Pray, Love in Rome by Luca Spaghetti and the sequel of the original book Eat, Pray, Love by Elizabeth Gillberth, Committed. If you haven’t already, maybe you should go through the original first :). Light, funny and contemporary, books in this series are so easy to read.

PicMonkey Collage

Another light, sexy and funny reading is On Dublin Street by Samantha Young. As usual, I’ve read Fifty Shades of Grey once all the hype was over and I really liked it (don’t hate me because of that). Somehow, at the same time, I went to a book store and saw this book on the display. Quick overview of the blurb on the back cover convinced me to buy it. Nothing revolutionary, but full of intrigue, sex and love, this book will make you read it from cover to cover in a day. If you liked Mr. Grey, you’ll love Branden Carmichael! It might be interesting for you to know that this book was better rated on Goodreads than 50SoG (4,3 vs 3,7).

PicMonkey Collage1

My favorite romance book of all times is, most definitely, Emma by Jane Austen. I loved the film with Gwyneth Paltrow which made me read the book. I remember reading it in my early twenties and imagining all the situations described – I cheered fullheartedly for Emma and Mr. Knightley and, although I’ve read numerous books meanwhile, this remains my favorite romance of all times. I believe that each of you will be able to see a bit of him/herself in Emma since she is more contemporary character than many I’ve met in recent books.

PicMonkey Collage2

Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte is a classic I think everyone should read. It’s not ordinary love story, nor is it the most easiest to read, but it was one of those books that takes you emotionally to the fullest and brings you to unbelievable heights. If you wish, you can always watch movie adaptation, but I recommend the book because it will most definitely touch your deepest emotions. Needless to say, I’ve been in love with Heatcliff ever since I’ve read the book.

PicMonkey Collage3

Finaly, the book I loved reading while studying English, Scarlet Letter by Nathaniel Hawthorne. It is not a typical romance, it’s a story of a proud woman who dedicated herself to the child that is a fruit of forbidden love. Although we live in 21st and not in 17th century as the main protagonists of the book, story of Hester and Pearl can be transmitted to today’s day and age. We are still forcing women to wear scarlet letters, although invisible, but as burning as they have been centuries ago. Certainly not a light romance, but a deep, cleverly written story of woman’s strength and dedication.

PicMonkey Collage4

So, these are some of my romance recommendations for Valentine’s Day. Have you read any of the books? What was you’re Valentine’s Day like? I hope it was as any other, full of love, suport, passion and happiness.

3 thoughts on “Let’s Talk…and Read…of Love!!

Leave a comment