Top 5 crime shows on my Tracker

I guess it’s pretty obvious from my choice of reading that I’m major mystery fan. My every visit to a book store results in yet another mystery book on my bookshelf. If you ask me, there’s nothing better than drinking tea during winter nights under the blanket, enjoying good mystery book and imagining all the situations happening to the main characters. I can’t even count all the sleepless nights I waited for Hercule Poirot to discover who the murderer is. I’m sure that happened to you countless times, too.

This obsession is not limited to books only, but it transfers to crime shows as well. Especially British crime shows, but there are couple of American I don’t skip watching no matter what as well. When I started thinking about the shows I want to include in this post, it was really hard to choose only five, but somehow I managed to pick particular shows that represent some mystery sub-genres I enjoy in 🙂

Anyway, these 5 shows are my warm recommendation, but be careful – once you start watching them, you’ll download all the last seasons, and then don’t blame me if you spend next week in front of your computer without wishing to do anything else. If it’s exam season, save this post and read it once you’ve passed all the exams 🙂

As they say, don’t shoot the messenger and enjoy!

1. Midsomer Murders (ITV)

Based on Caroline Graham novels, Midsomer Murders entered its 16 season on ITV. Situated in small villages in the Midsomer region, the show follows Inspector Barnaby and his team in resolving murder cases. This is the show I’ve been following the longest and I can’t wait for new episodes to come out on January 28th. Meanwhile, the main character has retired but has been switched with his (character’s) cousin with the same last name, Barnaby, and, fortunately, the show did not suffer, as it sometimes happens. Amazing scenery, wonderful actors and well-developed plot have kept my attention all these years.

image-4-for-yourlife-telly-money-23-03-2011-gallery-578993494

2. Sherlock Holmes (BBC)

To be clear, any adaptation of the Arthur Conan Doyle’s majestic Sherlock Holmes series catches my attention and I would recommend each and every one of them. However, the adaptation with Benedict Cumberbatch as Holmes is something completely different, and I cannot resist each episode. Or I cannot ressist Cumberbatch?!? So far, the show has been aired for 3 seasons, and the 4th one is currently being produced, but the premiere will be during Christmas 2015 which I cannot wait to come 😦

benedictcumberbatchassherlockholmes_1390576357

3. Elementary (CBS)

As I said, I think that it is almost impossible to fail in adapting Sherlock Holmes (who managed to do this should be exiled from this sphere immediately), so I enjoy in the latest American version as well. I love the fact that they have kept British actor as Sherlock Holmes and that Watson is actually a female played by Lucy Liu. Another British character has been introduced in the last season, which added special flavor to the story. It is interesting to watch how director managed to incorporate Sherlock Holmes in the contemporary atmosphere with all his madness and addictions. I have to admit that I prefer the version with Cumberbatch, but this one is great, too.

Step Nine

4. Revenge (ABC)

One of my favorite mystery/action series with female main actors is the one following young woman whose father has died in prison after being accused of crimes he did not commit. In her twenties she decides to take justice in her hands and then her revenge path starts. She only has handful of friends, but manages to infiltrate among those who have took her father away from her. Show built around rich Hampton society colored with lies, betrayals, murders, love, sex, and much more will catch your attention pretty soon. Current season (4) brings some major revelations and complete turn in the plot. Hope you will enjoy in it as much as I do.

ASHLEY MADEKWE, NICK WECHSLER, CONNOR PAOLO, GABRIEL MANN, EMILY VANCAMP, CHRISTA B. ALLEN, MADELEINE STOWE, JOSH BOWMAN, HENRY CZERNY

5. Broadchurch (ITV)

After a young boy has been found dead on the coast of a small town in Dorset, England, full media and police attention is focused on this small community where everyone is seen as a suspect. Amazing plot, interesting characters and unexpected turn have made me chill by the end of the series. New season started with the beginning of January, equally interesting as the first one. The series has been adapted for American market under the title Gracepoint and it is on air since October 2014. I still did not watch the adaptation, but definitely will as soon as I finish this post 🙂

Series_1

Other crime/mystery series I think are worth watching are: How to get Away With Murder, Without a Trace, Homeland, Foyle’s War, Prime Suspect, CSI series, etc.

Have you watched any of the  shows? What do you think of them?

A.

10 thoughts on “Top 5 crime shows on my Tracker

  1. Volis Revenge? Volim i ja tebe xD ja pauziram sa serijom sad malo kako se zakuhalo da ne dozivim srcani. Preporucujem ti da pogledas grimm. Prva i druga sezona su totalna razonoda ali u trecoj se svasta zakuha 😀 i zato je cetvrta odlicna, kao i kod revenge

    Like

    1. Kod mene je isto sa Revenge, sada cekam da se nakupi nekoliko epizoda pa da pregledam 😀 – maloprije sam nekome objasnjavala sta se izdesavalo u posljednjim epizodama koje sam gledala, i znas ono kad nekome objasnjavas a sav se zapetljas – bas su zapetljali sa likovima i dogadjajima ovoj sezoni ali mi je to super, samo da ne prepricavam nikome 😀 Pogledacu grimm, uvijek sam za nove serije slicnog zanra, vec se vidim za kompjuterom ovih dana kako gledam sve dosadasnje sezone, a ispiti, ko ih sisa 😀

      Like

    1. I really hate when they do that. In the beginning, you get season after season and then, when you start getting into it, they pause for a year or so until the new season is filmed. This happened with Midsomer Murders, and I couldn’t wait for a year to pass until the new episode :-(. Do you like any other shows?

      Like

Leave a comment