When did women power become “I like taking care of my man”?

During the past several weeks I have been on a sort of a reading slump. I am that sort of a person that reads several books at the same time and I always have a bunch of them at my bed stand. I usually pick different book every evening when I go to bed, but in these past weeks I did not have nerves for any of them. And I’m talking of good books, the ones I would enjoy reading usually. Anyway, since I was not in my best mood for reading, I’ve been spending substantial amount of time in front of my computer, watching light TV series/soaps. I became kind of hooked up on Younger – it’s short, funny and fast-paced with pretty good actors (not to mention amazing clothing :)). At one point, one of the leading characters (impersonated by Hillary Duff) says something like this: I like taking care of my man. I don’t know if it’s just me but this sort of a sentence is something I hear almost everyday from my friends, acquaintances and on TV, of course. Is this some kind of new approach in the modern perception of women-men relations or is it something that is slowly becoming an intro for a standardized vision of family/relationship values in the future?!? virginia_woolf_women_348 In my opinion, minimizing women’s role in the society soly to taking care of “her man” and family is leading toward regression to middle ages. Women have fought for decades to (among other things) improve their position, to gain the right to vote, to have equal wages (which is still a struggle), to have the right for equal education as men, and to be respected as their male colleagues only to be downsized to a caretaker of “their men’s” needs. Is it fair? Is it just? tumblr_med9f2ABVc1r9bgcro1_500 Taking care of your family is respectful, it should mirror the equality of partners’ efforts to maintain healthy relations and to support each other in pursuing individual wishes and needs. I believe that portraying women as providers of service that will suit the male’s needs is dangerous and discriminating against, having in mind how much influence TV and internet have on kids nowadays. Are we slowly becoming tired of fighting for the rights we have been given by birth? Are we becoming victims of modern age? Is the struggle to be respected as equal taking its turn toward regression? *all the photos have been taken from http://imgbuddy.com/quotes-for-women-power.asp

Leave a comment